LMS Advisory Committee

The LMS Advisory Committee was an important part of the LMS evaluation process, tasked with reaching out to the university to help define the future of digital learning on the campus and guide the process to any future system.

The committee's role

Advise on the assessment of the current Learning Management Systems (LMS), the recommendation of an appropriate replacement, and the transition to a new one.

Provide recommendations for outreach and engagement to the university community, especially academics.

Advise on implementation policies.

Watch two LMS committee members talk about the process and their role.

Establish a small working group (a sub-group of the larger committee) that will assist in the various planned assessments of LMS candidates. Such activities would include:

  • Reaching out to peers at referenced institutions for impressions about a identified vendor’s LMS implementation at their campus. The core team will be working on other possible uses of faculty working groups.
  • Reviewing the survey that will be sent to the university’s community after the public demonstrations.
  • Working with project team on identifying specific use cases, activities or tasks they would like to be seen demonstrated by the vendors.

Committee Members

Office of the ProvostDr. Debbie Thorne, Associate Provost - LMS Advisory Committee Chair
College of Applied ArtsDr. Scott Bowman, Associate Professor, School of Criminal Justice
College of Applied ArtsDr. Carrie J. Boden, Department of Occupational, Workforce, and Leadership Studies
College of EducationDr. Minda Lopez, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Curriculum and Instruction
College of EducationDr. Duane Knudson, Professor, Health and Human Performance
College of Fine Arts & CommunicationKaysie Seitz Brown, Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre & Dance
College of Fine Arts & CommunicationDr. Kevin Mooney, Senior Lecturer, Musicology
College of Health ProfessionsDr. Scott Kruse, Assistant Professor
College of Health ProfessionsDr. Barbara Hewitt, Assistant Professor
College of Liberal ArtsDr. Chad Smith, Chair - Professor, Sociology
College of Liberal ArtsDr. Emily Hanks, Associate Professor, Political Science
College of Science and EngineeringDr. Debra Feakes, Professor, Chemistry & Biochemistry
College of Science and EngineeringDr. Stan McClellan, Director of Ingram School of Engineering
Graduate CollegeDr. Andrea Golato, Dean
Graduate StudentBlair Didion, MBA
Honors CollegeRobby Longoria, Admin
Honors CollegeDr. Peter Tschirhart, Associate Dean
McCoy College of Business AdministrationDr. David C Wierschem, Associate Dean, Undergraduate Programs
McCoy College of Business AdministrationMs. Jennifer Krou, Sr. Lecturer, Department of Computer Information Systems & Quantitative Methods
Office of Disability Services (ODS)Bruce Coonce, Student Development Specialist, Student Diversity and Inclusion
Office of Distance and Extended Learning (ODEL)Mr. Dana Willett, Director, Distance and Extended Learning
Technology Innovation OfficeDr. Carlos Solís, Associated Vice President
University CollegeDr. Kambra Bolch, Associate Dean - Academic Programs
University LibraryStephanie Towery, Librarian, Copyright Officer
University LibraryLisa Ancelet, Head of Research, Instruction and Outreach